Lakers History: Los Angeles Lakers Scoring Titles

Features the complete list and details about the Los Angeles Lakers players that have led the NBA in points, including George Mikan, Jerry West Shaquille O'Neal and Kobe Bryant

Despite having had some of the best scorers in NBA history, only 4 players in Lakers history have led the league in scoring. Wilt Chamberlain won the scoring title 7 times, but he never did it with the Lakers. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, the NBA all-time top scorer never did it wearing the Laker jersey either.

With the departure of Shaquille O'Neal (who led the league once for the Lakers), Kobe Bryant numbers exploded, reaching the heights that only Chamberlain did previously. Kobe scored 81 points once, has had many 50-plus point games and has been the scoring champion twice.

Note: from 1946-47 to 1968-69, the NBA scoring leader was the player with more total points, after that the scoring title is won by the player with better point per game average.

Los Angeles Lakers Regular Season Scoring Leaders:

Points Avg. Total Points Lakers Record
Kobe Bryant 2006-07 31.6 2,430 42-40
Kobe Bryant 2005-06 35.4 2,832 45-37
Shaquille O'Neal 1999-00 29.7 2,344 67-15
Jerry West 1969-70 31.2 2,309 46-36
George Mikan 1950-51 28.4 1,932 44-24
George Mikan 1949-50 27.4 1,865 51-17
George Mikan 1948-49 28.3 1,698 44-16

related: complete list of NBA Scoring Leaders